Local Info

While Exploring the St. John's River in early 1596, Don Pedro Menendez made the following notes into his diary: "We found the third village of the savages on the West bank, halfway between a very big lake and a smaller one farther up stream on a likable spot in the shade of formidable trees. The river seems to be full of goodly fish, and the forest inhabited by all kinds of birds and beasts, the meat of which is quite tasty." The royal botanist John Bartram and his son visited the same spot in 1765 to study the flora and the fauna of the St. John's. Upon discovering a trading post named Spalding's Upper Store, they decided to stay several weeks. In his subsequent book "TRAVELS", William Bartram devoted 72 pages to describing the area in vivid and colorful detail, such as "this blessed land where the gods have amassed into one heap all the flowering plants, birds, fish and other wildlife of two continents in order to turn the rushing streams, the silent lake shores and the awe-abiding woodlands of this mysterious land into a true garden of eden."

This "likable spot of goodly fish", this "garden of Eden" is today called ASTOR and is still here for those who thirst for the unspoiled wilderness. The water of the St. John's rolling relentlessly along the evergreen shores of silent hammocks dotted with dreamy ponds and spell-bound creeks are still harboring the famous prize-winning fish, the cautious bobcats, playful otters, clumsy black bears, shy wild turkeys and the rare Florida panthers. The slender osprey is Astor's mascot bird, but standing on the shoreline you can see hundreds of egret's, herons and water turkeys. You can watch the majestic flight of the bald eagle and enjoy flowers of many colors year round.

Surrounded by the huge Ocala National Forest, and settled into the restless onyx-band of our great river, Astor is indeed the precious jewel of Central Florida one has to see just once never to forget it again.

Links

St John's River Story   http://www.planetdeland.com/pics/stjohns.htm
Inside Central Florida  http://www.insidecentralflorida.com/
Ocala National Forest Information http://www.gorp.com/dow/southern/ocalinfo.htm
Daytona Beach Information http://www.visitdaytona.com/beach.html
Lake County, Florida Information http://www.lakecountyfl.com/
St. John's River Fishing http://users.southeast.net/~newtona/bass.htm
Fishing Unlimited http://www.bass-fishing-unlimited.com/
Daytona Bike Week http://www.daytonachamber.com/bwhome.html
Daytona International Speedway http://www.daytonaintlspeedway.com/
State Parks http://www.planetdeland.com/stateparks/
Deleon Springs State Park http://www.planetdeland.com/deleonsprings
Blue Springs State Park http://www.planetdeland.com/bluesprings
Hontoon Island State Park http://www.planetdeland.com/hontoon/
Astor Bridge Marina www.astorbridgemarina.com
Castaways on the River www.castawaysontheriver.com
Front Street Bait & Tackle www.frontstreet-bait.com
Parramore's Campground http://www.parramores.com
Astor Florida Information http://www.astorflorida.com
United Southern Bank www.unitedsouthernbank.com
Astor's Floridian Inn www.astorsfloridianinn.com
Lazy Daze Boat Rentals www.lazydazeboats.com
Astor Marine Pontoon Boat Sales & Service www.astormarine.com
Darrell's Marine Sales & Service www.darrells.com
Wilburth Construction www.wcwilburth.com
Florida Cable & USA2NET Internet Services www.floridacable.com
First Baptist Church of Astor www.fbcastor.com
Astor Forest Property Owner's Assoc. www.afpoa.com
Florida Black Bear Scenic Byway www.floridablackbearscenicbyway.org 
Lake County Airboat Club http://www.lakeairboatclub.com
Astor VFW Post 9986 www.VFW9986.org
The Crappie Fisherman www.thecrappiefisherman.com
Beyers Funeral Home www.beyersfuneralhome.com 
Hitchcock's Astor Family Market www.myhitchcocks.com
Boroff Life Insurance & Annuities Agency www.naaboroff.com
Backus & Assoc. Legal Service Plans http://www.clbackus.com
Friends of the Astor Library www.friendsoftheastorlibrary.org
R P Hottinger Construction www.hottingerdocks.com
North Lake Outpost www.thenorthlakeoutpost.com
Umatilla Drug Store www.umatilladrugstore.com 
Nancy Brand, Realtor of Catherine Hanson Real Estate www.nancybrand.com
Beans Barbque http://www.beansbarbque.com
Blackwater Inn/William's Landing www.blackwaterinn.com
Obrien's Cafe www.obrienscafeastor.com
Sterling's Restaurant www.sterlingsfinefoods.com
Astor Arms & Outdoor Supplies www.astorarmsoutdoor.com
St. Johns River Tours www.stjohnsrivertours.com
AlarmPro Security Alarm Services www.alarmproinc.net
Villa Elena Vacation Rental http://www.villaelenaastor.com
Buck-N-Kats Cafe www.parramores.com
Astor Area Chamber of Commerce www.astorchamber.com

Other Area Attractions

Air Adventures
Attractions & Theme Parks
Bicycle Tours Boat & Eco Tours
Cruises Cultural, Special Interest & Museums
Dinner Theaters Entertainment Complexes
Fishing & Fish Camps Golf & Tennis
Horseback Riding Sightseeing
Sports & Recreational Activities Water Parks
Wildlife Refuges & Zoos  

 

Please visit our other campgrounds:
Click below to view website